Continuing Reformation Kickoff!

IT IS WITH MUCH ANTICIPATION
that I announce the kickoff of
Continuing Reformation for Oct 1st!

Continuing Reformation
October is Reformation Month

Reaching its zenith on Reformation Day (October 31st) or the anniversary of Martin Luther’s hammering of the 95 Theses on the church door of the Schlosskirche in Wittenberg, Reformation Month is time of remembering and recounting the history and theology of the reformers. Each new day a post will feature a new reformation figure ranging from the early 1500’s to the late 1600’s. These figures will represent several countries including Germany (The Holy Roman Empire), Switzerland, Scandinavia (which included Denmark), Great Britain, The Netherlands, and other places.

Source: HBD Chick, The Radical Reformation, 07/09/13, WordPress

Source: HBD Chick, The Radical Reformation, 07/09/13, WordPress. Edited.

Throughout the month, I also hope to give as much fun facts, Luther quotes, and reformation trivia as possible. If you would like to see a specific figure or event covered, please leave a reply!

Martin Luther

Why did the Reformation Happen?

“I will preach it, teach it, write it, but I will constrain no man by force, for faith must come freely without compulsion. Take myself as an example. I opposed indulgences and all the papists, but never with force. I simply taught, preached, and wrote God’s Word: otherwise I did nothing. And then, while I slept, or drank Wittenberg beer with my friends Philip and Amsdorf, the Word so greatly weakened the papacy that no prince or emperor ever inflicted such losses upon it. I did nothing: the Word everything. Had I wanted to start trouble…. I could have started such a little game at Worms that even the emperor wouldn’t have been safe. But what would it have been? A mug’s game. I did nothing: I left it to the Word.

– Martin Luther adapted from quotations in Timothy George’s Reading Scripture With the Reformers. InterVarsity, 2011. p.20, and Carl Trueman’s Luther on the Christian Life. Crossway, 2015, p. 94-95. [Edited 9/21/15]

Cheers & Amen!

One thought on “Continuing Reformation Kickoff!

Leave a Reply

